
Date Received________________ 

Approved___________________ 

Date Issued__________________ 

COIN OPERATED WASHER AND DRYER LICENSE APPLICATION 
(Separate application needed for each location) 

MAIL TO: Department of Revenue, Special Tax Division, 445 E Capitol Ave, Pierre South Dakota 5750l 

Owner's Name and Address:  Business Name and Address: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Owner's Telephone Number _________________________          Manager's Telephone Number _________________________ 
 
Coin operated washers and dryers are charged an annual fee of $16.00 per unit in a city under 1,000 population and $20.00 per unit for each machine in a 
city over 1,000 population or if located outside the corporate limits of a city. Application for the calendar year license is due and payable prior to 
January 1, annually. (Additional sheets maybe attached). Persons failing to file by December 31st of the year prior to the year for which the fee is due 
will be assessed interest at the rate of 1.25% per month or fraction thereof and penalty equal to 10% of the tax due or $10.00 whichever is greater. 
Notice: Failure to apply for a license and display such license subjects the operator or manager to a fine of $100.00 or 30 days in jail or both. 
 
                            Make                              Serial Number                                             Address of Units  
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The above units are located within the city of ______________________or located outside and near the city of ____________________. 
(Fill in applicable space) 
 
  Total Number of $16.00 Units ___________________________ Amount $ _________________________________________ 
   
   Total Number of $20.00 Units __________________________ Amount $ _________________________________________ 
 

               Interest $ _________________________________________ 
                                                                                                               
                                                                                                             Penalty $ _________________________________________ 
 
                                                                                               Total Amount Remitted $ ___________________________________ 
 
Date _______________________________________        Signed ___________________________________________________ 
    Owner 
 
 
SD REV SPT 401-08-01



Instructions 
 
Each coin operated machine, whether public, in apartment, or elsewhere, designed for the purpose of 
washing, cleaning or drying any material, must have an annual license which expires on December 31 of 
each year. A license is not transferable from one machine to another. If a machine is operated for only a 
portion of a year, the full license fee must be paid. In the event a new machine is added during the year, a 
separate application should be requested and filed with this office. There will be no need of sending in 
your license card for an up-date providing you retain a copy of your additional application on file. 
 
Applications for an operators license and machine licenses should be obtained from the South Dakota 
Department of Revenue, Special Tax Division, 445 E. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, South Dakota 
57501-3185. If, during the year, additional licenses are necessary, application forms should be requested. 
The license, in the form of a large post card, should be affixed to the wall in the machine area where it 
can be seen but not in a location where it will be subject to destruction and/or readily removable. 
 
(As of July 1, 1992, any nonprofit charitable organization which devotes its resources exclusively to the 
relief of the poor, distressed or underprivileged and has been recognized as an exempt organization 
under §501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code is specifically exempted from the license fee and any 
sales, use or gross receipts taxes imposed on the operation or ownership of coin operated washers and 
dryers placed and used in living accommodations provided by such organization to the poor, distressed 
or underprivileged. These agencies must show proof of the Department of Revenue that they meet such 
requirements.) 
 
The rate for each machine is $16.00 annually where the machine is in a municipality having a population 
of 1,000 or less. In a municipality having a population of over 1,000 or outside a municipality, the fee 
for each machine is $20.00. The full fee must be paid on machines used only a portion of the year as 
there is no provision for pro-rating the fee. The following municipalities have a population of over 
1,000: 
 
 Aberdeen Deadwood Hartford North Sioux City Sturgis 
 Belle Fourche Dell Rapids Hot Springs Parkston Tyndall 
 Beresford DeSmet Howard Philip Vermillion 
 Black Hawk Elk Point Huron Pierre Volga 
 Box Elder Ellsworth AFB Lead Pine Ridge Wagner 
 Brandon Eureka Lemmon Platte Watertown 
 Britton Flandreau Lennox Rapid City Webster 
 Brookings Fort Pierre Madison Redfield Wessington Springs 
 Canton Fort Thompson Martin Rosebud Winner 
 Chamberlain Freeman Milbank Salem Yankton 
 Clark Gettysburg Miller Sioux Falls 
 Clear Lake Gregory Mitchell Sisseton 
 Custer Groton Mobridge Spearfish 
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