
1. Please complete the appropriate form to be licensed as a Registered Barber, or Registered Barber through
transfer of license or certificate of registration.

2. Remit the appropriate fees. Please send a check or money order (no cash is accepted) made payable to the SD
Board of Barber Examiners.

3. Include a 3x5 photo of yourself with the application.

4. All applicants must complete the section of “Barber school attended, address and date of enrollment.” You will
need to request official transcripts from the barber college from which you graduated with your Barber degree.
Please have the college send the official transcript directly to this office (do not have them send a copy to you
first.  It must come direct to our office from the school).

5. No school of barbering shall be approved by the Board of Barber Examiners unless it requires as a prerequisite to
graduation a course of instruction of not less than nine months with a minimum of 1500 hours.

6. The South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners administers the written examination approved by the National-
Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology, Inc. Test results are received in the Board office approximately
5-10 business days after the testing date. A practical examination is required and is administered by members of
the Board of Barber Examiners.

7. If you are applying for licensure through Transfer of License or Certificate of Registration, the following must be
included:

1. 3x5 photo.
2. Applicant must hold current license or certificate of registration as a barber from another state or country

that has substantially the same requirements for licensing or registering barbers as required by South
Dakota.

3. Verification of all past/present licensure, completed by the State Board of Barbering in the state in which
applicant is currently licensed, sent directly from that state to this office.

4. Completion of formal education in a recognized School of Barbering. Transcripts to be sent directly to this
office from the barber college.

5. Applicants will be given credit for 50 educational hours for each month such applicant has practiced as a
licensed barber in another state whose hours are less than the 1500 hours required by South Dakota.

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation Rev. 07/2018 

If testing in SD. please remit separate checks or money orders (One for Examination Fee, One for Certificate Fee) 

Fee schedule is as follows: 
Registered Barber Application for Examination Fee $100.00 
Certificate Fee $50.00 
Registered Barber through transfer of License or Certificate of Registration License Fee $150.00

SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND REGULATION
SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS

221 W. Capitol Ave., Suite 101, Pierre SD  57501
Tel: 605.773.6193      barber@state.sd.us

INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST

If testing is required, the State Board of Barber Examiners will approve candidates 
to take the examination(s) once all application materials have been received and approved 
in the Board Office. 

*No application will be processed without the submittance of the respective fees. Please contact
the Board office if you have questions.



For Board Use Only 

Date of Application_________________________________ License Number___________________________________ 

Date of State Exam________________________________ CKD Child Support Report____________________________ 

Score of State Examination__________________________ Date Issued_______________________________________ 

Board Approval____________________________________  Date Expires______________________________________ 

SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND REGULATION
SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS

221 W. Capitol Ave., Suite 101, Pierre SD  57501
Tel: 605.773.6193      barber@state.sd.us

LICENSE APPLICATION

Under the laws of the State of South Dakota, I hereby make application for an annual license as: 

 Registered Barber – Application For Examination Fee - $100.00 + Certificate Fee- $50.00 

  Registered Barber through Transfer of License or Certificate of Registration - $150.00 

Substantially the same requirements as South Dakota 

 
 

Name of applicant:               SSN:  
(Social security number’s use is intended for purposes of identification related to licensure issues, discipline, and other board related 
issues.) 

Current 
Photo of Applicant 

18 years of age   Passed required examinations
Graduation from Scho ol of Barbering 

$________App/Exam Ck#________      $________Cert Fee Ck#________      $________Transfer Fee  Ck#________ 

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation   Rev. 07/2018 

If testing in SD. please remit separate checks or money orders (One for Examination Fee, One for Certificate Fee) 



South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation   

RULES AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING LICENSES 

Any person desiring to become licensed to practice barbering in South Dakota must first obtain an application from the State Board. 
The application must be properly filled out and accompanied by the required fees.  A recent photograph of the applicant must be 
attached for identification purposes. 

IDENTIFICATION 
       Date 

1. Full Name of Applicant
      Last  First                Middle           Maiden/Former (if applicable) 

2. Address
      Mailing               City        State             Zip 

Phone No.   Email Address 

    Date of Birth 3. Place of Birth

4. Have you ever had your barber license suspended, placed on probation, or otherwise disciplined in any other
state?      Yes   No 

If yes, where?  . Please explain below or attach a separate sheet.

5. Are there any complaints currently pending against you as a barber in any other state?       Yes   No 
If yes, where?                                     . Please explain below or attach a separate sheet.

  No 
If yes, explain here or attach a separate sheet to include the offense convicted of, date of conviction, court convicted in, and a
copy of the conviction.

7. SDCL 25-7A-56 prohibits the issuance or renewal of any state regulated license if an applicant owes $1,000 or more in past due
child support.   Do you owe $1,000 or more in past due child support?

    Yes   No 

6. Have you been convicted or found guilty of any criminal offense other than traffic violations?                Yess

Rev. 07/2018 

Please choose either yes or no for each question in the appropriate section below. (required) 



8. Place of Business or Employment
Address

Mailing       City   State        Zip 
Phone No.

Employer Business Type:
     Unknown          Individual  Partnership  Corporation         Association     LLC       LLP       Other 

9. Barber School Attended:

     Mailing Address                 City   State            Zip 

Dates of Enrollment:  

Number of hours completed: 
Please have official college transcripts by the Registrar of College/University sent directly to the South Dakota Board of 
Barber Examiners. 

10. Are you licensed or have you ever been licensed to practice as a registered barber in a state other than South Dakota?
Yes         No

State(s)             

License Number               

return directly to the South Dakota Board the form for “Verification of Licensure in Another State.” 

Please notify the South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners Office at 605-642-1600 if you feel you are eligible under the Americans 
with Disabilities Act (ADA) for special accommodation either in completing the application process or in taking the required 
examination. 

COMPLETE AFFIDAVIT ON PAGE 4 
ALL APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED IF NOT PROPERLY 

COMPLETED OR FEES NOT ENCLOSED. 
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

 Licensed held from (Dates): to          

 If yes, request the Board in the other state(s) to complete and

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation   Rev. 07/2018 
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Name of Applicant: ______________________________________________________________________________ 

AFFIDAVIT 

I hereby state that I have fully read and understand the questions presented in this application and have answered them 
truthfully and completely.  I acknowledge that my failure to make a full and accurate disclosure of any information called for 
herein may result in the denial of my application. I further acknowledge that any license or certificate I may obtain on the basis of 
this application may be revoked or suspended for my failure to disclose full and accurate information herein. 

I will furnish additional information or documentation as may be deemed necessary by the South Dakota State Board of Barber 
Examiners for the verification of the information I have disclosed in this application. 

“I declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury that this application has been examined by me, and to the best of my 
knowledge and belief, is in all things true and correct.” 

MUST BE SIGNED IN 
PRESENCE OF NOTARY 

Applicant Signature Date of Signature 

Notary Public 
Embossed Seal or 
Rubber Stamp 

Subscribed and Sworn Before Me, this 

___________________day of ___________________ year 

Notary Public Signature My Commission Expires 

Notary Public Name (Type or Printed) 

This completed application, together with the appropriate application fees and any support documents, 
should be submitted to: 

South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners 
221 W. Capitol Ave., Suite 101

Pierre, SD  57501 
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